Seanachie Irish Pub

Chicken Leek Boxty

Chicken Leek Boxty

No signs of Fuddruckers here. Did you know Seanachie Irish Pub in Signal Hill used to be a Fuddruckers, the DIY burger joint? Anyways, I met my sister there for lunch yesterday.

We arrived early to get a seat in the patio. At 11am, they don’t know what to do with customers. We sat ourselves on the patio and practically had to get our own iced water and menus.

Their menu is extensive and had a good selection of lunch and dinner entrees. If you’re stopping by for lunch, be sure to ask for the lunch menu. They didn’t offer that to us and we had to be nosy to borrow the one from the table next to us. Perhaps if we ordered a beer, we would have got better service.

Seanachie Irish Pub on Urbanspoon

I chose the Chicken Leek Boxty. Does the wrap look like a potato pancake or a tortilla? Yep, I got fooled. The potato pancake was what sold me on the dish, not the contents. But then this is an Irish pub and not a Jewish deli. I was hoping for a really good latka but got this instead. The veggies on the side were plentiful but I found them too salty for my taste. Luckily my sister had a salt tongue so she ate it.

She chose the Prime Rib with mini Yorkshire puddings. When it came, we somehow visualized this dish differently. It came with about six yorkshire puddings the shape and size of a muffin. The prime rib looked like deli meat, thinly sliced beef shoved inside the yorkshire puddings. She was disappointed to say the least. Overall, it was just ok.

2 thoughts on “Seanachie Irish Pub

    • Hi Pepsi, I think you’re right. Jack Astor’s took over the Fuddruckers restaurant in Southland and Seanachie took over Jack Astor’s in Westhills. Thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

