Hyatt Mercedes Benz

Lone Rabbit at Hyatt Mercedes Benz

Lone Rabbit at Hyatt Mercedes Benz

There is certainly a difference between buying a brand new Mercedes Benz and a certified preowned or used vehicle. At least when you shop at Hyatt Mercedes Benz on 9th Avenue and 15th Street. After dropping my wife off downtown, I decided to stop by and take a look at certified preowned GLK 350. When I arrived over by the new cars, the place was deserted. There was absolutely no movement there. Behind the showroom glass, there was nothing. A few desks and some leftover buckets. Perhaps there were some renovations going on that I wasn’t aware of. It didn’t look like it was open for business.

Almost behind the showroom and fenced in, are the certified preowned’s or used vehicles. I asked for a salesman to help show me the certified preowned GLK 350 that I saw online. He opened the vehicle and I sat in. It was filthy. There were coffee stains on the console and someone had been eating chips in the front driver’s seat. Are they seriously selling this car? Compare this to buying a BMW at Calgary BMW in the south. All their preowned’s are embedded. They even have a preowned BMW X3 in their showroom. I think this is great! Customers can still have their dignity when buying used as they are buying new.

People wanting to buy a car would like to see it clean and sparkling, even if it is used. There were stickies on the front hood and bumper which probably can be scraped off but why wouldn’t a dealer do this before showing it to the public? A quick vacuum and wipe would have done it for me. There were two chips in the windshield and the tires looked worn out. It’s amazing to imagine this was a 2011 vehicle.

We made an offer and he told us that his manager wouldn’t consider it. We gave him a comparison of another vehicle with lower mileage and more options and told him that this vehicle was overpriced. We volunteered our phone numbers and told him to contact us in case he changed his mind about presenting the offer to his manager. Would I recommend Hyatt for a used car – stay tuned.

Thai Tai, But Not Really Thai

Tropical Chicken

Tropical Chicken

If you’re looking for good and authentic Thai food, then you’ll be disappointed at Thai Tai in the new Aspen shopping centre. My wife thinks she recognizes the hostess at the cashier that answers the phone and takes your money. She may be the owner of Bagolac, the Saigon restaurant near Chinook. The menu certainly looks Vietnamese and they certainly have the experience and expertise to cook up some good tasting food but it’s not Thai as the name suggests.

If you’re just looking to have curries then you’re in luck because they do serve all three types of curry. Green curry, yellow curry and red curry are all available with your choice of meat, chicken, pork or beef. I didn’t see if tofu was available or not but I would suspect so.

I ordered the Sweet, Sour, Salty Beef and my wife ordered the Tropical Chicken. It comes with rice and vegetables. We chose brown rice over white rice but you can order special coconut rice for $1 extra.

I loved my dish but I was afraid that I would be hungry when I left the restaurant. The beef slices were thin but there was enough veggies to help fill the void. The Tropical Chicken looked like any stir-fry with pineapple, onions, red peppers, carrots and baby corn.

Would we recommend it? For authentic Thai food, go somewhere else. For Vietnamese food, yes because they serve Pho, vermicelli dishes and a few dishes that you would find in any Vietnamese restaurant including those tasty subs.

Thai Tai Vietnamese Restaurant - Dine In & Take Out on Urbanspoon

Momoyama is the best

Salmon Teriyaki

Salmon Teriyaki

Momma knows best! And she is the best sushi and teriyaki house in Calgary. They only serve Uni or sea urchin in the weekend but most importantly, it has to be fresh and in season. When I came deliberately in the weekend to order my favourite dish, the sushi chef had to turn me away. He told me it’s not Uni season and they are bitter this time of year. That’s good to know because I do see Uni served in other Japanese restaurants. Perhaps they order it from somewhere else or they just don’t know better and they serve it to their customers anyways.

My favourite cooked food at Momoyama’s is their teriyaki chicken or their teriyaki salmon. If you order the latter, prepare yourself for a good serving of salmon. It’s usually not just one filet but you can get up to three filets. The chicken is plentiful too, again not just one breast but often it’s almost half a chicken worth of boneless meat. It’s not skinless but I rather them cook it and for you to remove it because it is more tasty that way and the meat stays tender throughout the grilling. The teriyaki dishes come with cooked cabbage and a broccoli for vegetables and miso soup to start.

The nigiri sushi is a good size. Not too big and not too small. The rice is usually soft and slightly warm. The sashimi is good too, with relatively fair sized pieces of fish. We like the salmon mostly but the tuna is good too.  Momoyama has lunch specials too and they like it if you can make reservations. They have a lot of take-outs and a lot of fans too!

Momo-Yama Sushi Japanese Cuisine on Urbanspoon