Why Not? Too Salty.

Linguini alla Vongole

Linguini alla Vongole

I’ve always liked the pasta at Why Not Italian Restaurant in Strathcona. After the waiter served us with a few glasses of water, he brought us a basket of dinner rolls. I had forgotten how tasty dinner rolls can be, especially when they are served warm.

I had ordered my favourite, Linguini alla Vongole or Linguini with Red Clam Sauce. They make the White Clam Sauce as well but I like the tomato version as oppose to the white wine. They’re equally tasty but I have always enjoyed the red marinara sauce here.

When it arrived, I was quite surprised to see how small the dish was. I seem to recall that they used to give you a big heap of linguini. And now, it looks like it’s about half the size of what it used to be. Either my memory is failing me or I have a bigger appetite or both.

Tonight’s red clam sauce was too salty for me to give it a thumbs up. I normally enjoy this dish here but when the sauce is salty, it’s ruined.

I’ll have to look for another Italian restaurant in Calgary. Any suggestions? If so, please leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

